WTF Wednesday: Clown Phobia

Good morning my cherries and daggers!

So, I have an absolute obsession with the circus. I’m actually reading a book called The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and although it takes me 17 years to finish a book, I think I might just take about 2 months to finish this – curse you short attention span!

But for me, taking 2 months to read a book is a great thing!

Anyway, so there’s not really any mention of clowns in the fabulous book, but telling people about it has raised the question – WHAT ABOUT THE CLOWNS???

Because I think 95% of people that I know have some strange fear of clowns.

Even when I type the word “clowns” into the Google Search Engine, the related searches are:

Funny Clowns

Happy Clowns

Nice Clowns

Evil Clowns

Scary Clowns

Seriously?

Personally, I don’t get it, but then, if you don’t have a phobia of something, how could you possibly understand it? So I took the liberty to do some research on it.

The fear of clowns is called Coulrophobia.

 “Coulrophobia can range from a mild discomfort when confronted by an actual clown to terror of clowns in the abstract.”

It’s a “new” fear originating in the late 1970’s and early 1980’s that basically originated thanks to movies such as Stephen King’s It and Fear of Clowns. 

Wikipedia on Stephen King’s It:

 “The story revolves around an inter-dimensional predatory life-form, which has the ability to transform itself into its prey’s worst fears allowing it to exploit the phobias of its victims. It mostly takes the form of a sadistic, wisecracking clown called “Pennywise the Dancing Clown”. The main protagonists are “The Losers Club”, or “The Lucky Seven”, a group of social outcasts who discover Pennywise and vow to destroy him by any means necessary.”

Scared yet?

Well let me know what you think of clowns…

♥Cherry♥

One thought on “WTF Wednesday: Clown Phobia

Leave a Reply

